Jump to content
Bildschirmfoto 2022 09 20 um 10 41 08 privat
Equal rights
Art. 3

FOR A SELF-DETERMINED LOVE LIFE BEFORE THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL COURT

Together with Anastasia Biefang, we went to the Federal Constitutional Court for the right to a self-determined love life of state employees.

Because of her online dating profile, high-ranking Bundeswehr-military officer Anastasia Biefang received a disciplinary reprimand. The wording of her search for sexual partners went too far for her employer: on her profile, Biefang, who is in an open relationship, was clearly looking for unbound sex with people of all genders. The officer fought against the reprimand all the way to the Federal Administrative Court - so far unsuccessfully. Together with the GFF, she is now going to the Federal Constitutional Court and fighting for her right to sexual self-determination, to non-discrimination because of her sexual orientation and to freedom of expression
Lea Beckmann

Lea Beckmann

Lawyer and former procedural coordinator of the GFF

"A female officer seeks sex on Tinder in no uncertain terms - the Federal Administrative Court sees this as endangering her respect and official authority among her subordinates. That she is interested in people of all genders is interpreted as sexual indiscriminateness. In this way, the Federal Administrative Court revives the sexual morality of the 1950s and discriminates against her because of her sexual orientation. This decision violates fundamental rights and must not be allowed to stand."

Are state employees - even in high-ranking leadership positions - allowed to use dating platforms and openly seek sex? The case of Anastasia Biefang ignites on this question. The high-ranking federal military officer lives with her wife in an open relationship. In her search for sexual partners, Biefang used the dating app Tinder. In 2019, an illegally created screenshot of her Tinder profile was leaked to her superior.

As a result, investigations were launched against her and her superior even wanted to relieve Biefang - then battalion commander - of her post. Because the accusation was that her Tinder profile was damaging the reputation of the Bundeswehr and undermining her own authority as a leader. Her employer ultimately issued her a disciplinary reprimand. Biefang defended herself against this - first before the military service court and finally also in court, all the way to the Federal Administrative Court.

External Content from YouTube

Please see the privacy policy of YouTube if you are loading external content.

In conversation with Anastasia Biefang

Private life protected by fundamental rights even for civil servants

The 2nd Military Service Senate of the Federal Administrative Court had confirmed the reprimand of the Bundeswehr in May and justified it in September: Biefang was allowed to use dating platforms, the court said. However, it must avoid "ambiguous exaggerations" and the impression of "sexual indiscipline". In particular, the reference "all genders welcome", i.e. that Anastasia Biefang is attracted to people of all genders, could create the impression of "sexual indiscriminateness" and "sexual indiscipline". Thus, an unsuspecting third party might believe on first, cursory reading that she wants to act out her sex drive without restraint.

This accusation clearly restricts the officer in the exercise of her fundamental right to sexual self-determination. Such encroachments on fundamental rights in this essential part of private life are only constitutional if there are sufficiently viable grounds for justification - if, for example, someone could come to harm. However, this circumstance is neither recognizable nor presented. The GFF evaluates the reference of the Bundeswehr and the decision of the BVerwG as clearly unconstitutional. The right to sexual self-determination as a manifestation of the general right of personality also applies to government employees. The prohibition of discrimination also prohibits interpreting her sexual orientation as "sexual indiscrimination" and imposing silence on her in this regard. Freedom of expression also protects profile texts on Tinder and prohibits state officials from distorting or interpreting statements in a detrimental way. They are not allowed to dictate to public officials the words they use in their private lives to express their sexual orientation and form of relationship. Nor may certain forms of relationships, such as open relationships, be discriminated against and devalued.

Freedom must not depend on an imaginary third party

After the Federal Administrative Court had initially accused the officer of "lacking integrity of character" due to her dating profile in its own press release in May, it now shifts the accusations to imaginary third parties in its reasons for the decision. Thus, her subordinates could lose the necessary respect and trust in her as a superior because of her dating profile. In particular, they might suspect that Biefang is not adequately investigating allegations of sexual harassment within the Bundeswehr because of her own sex life.

That the dating profile could result in damage to the image of the Bundeswehr is rejected even by the Federal Administrative Court.

The GFF is particularly critical of the figure of the imaginary third party. It must not be the case that fundamental rights are prophylactically restricted in order to protect uninformed third parties. "The judges fear that uninvolved, thoughtless third parties could suspect an uninhibited sex life in Ms. Biefang. Making her freedom dependent on the assumptions of imaginary third parties turns the protection of fundamental rights into the opposite," says procedural coordinator Lea Beckmann. Moreover, the insinuation that Biefang's consensual and legal sex life prevents her from clearing up allegations of sexual harassment is untenable. There is no connection whatsoever between the two facts. In order to strengthen the right to sexual self-determination and to ensure that the figure of the third party worthy of protection does not become a standard of freedom, we are joining Anastasia Biefang in taking legal action before the Federal Constitutional Court to obtain a fundamental ruling.

Time for a ruling from Karlsruhe

Because the consequences of the decision of the Federal Administrative Court are serious for many people: it does not only allow an employer (in this case a state employer) to restrict the private living out of the chosen relationship models and one's own sexuality and to relate it to professional authority. The press release published in May as well as the reasons for the decision of September 14 read like a socio-political step back into the 50s of the last century: The judicial argumentation is carried by a sexual morality that restricts especially women and queer people.

External Content from YouTube

Please see the privacy policy of YouTube if you are loading external content.

Webinar #GFFSpotlight: Für ein selbstbestimmtes Liebesleben vors BVerfG – mit Anastasia Biefang
Grundrechte verteidigen.
Fördermitglied werden!

Zum Inhalt springen
Auf dem Foto ist Anastasia Biefang auf einer Demonstration zu sehen.
privat
Gleiche Rechte
Art. 3

FÜR EIN SELBSTBESTIMMTES LIEBESLEBEN VORS BUNDESVERFASSUNGSGERICHT

Gemeinsam mit Anastasia Biefang sind wir für das Recht auf ein selbstbestimmtes Liebesleben Staatsbediensteter vor das Bundesverfassungsgericht gezogen.

Wegen ihres Onlinedating-Profils erhielt die hochrangige Bundeswehr-Offizierin Anastasia Biefang einen disziplinarischen Verweis. Die Formulierung ihrer Suche nach Sexualpartner*innen ging ihrem Arbeitgeber zu weit: Denn auf ihrem Profil suchte Biefang, die in einer offenen Beziehung lebt, mit klaren Worten nach ungebundenem Sex mit Menschen aller Geschlechter. Bis zum Bundesverwaltungsgericht kämpfte die Offizierin gegen den Verweis – bislang erfolglos. Gemeinsam mit der GFF zieht sie jetzt vors Bundesverfassungsgericht und kämpft für ihr Recht auf sexuelle Selbstbestimmung, auf Nichtdiskriminierung wegen ihrer sexuellen Orientierung und auf Meinungsfreiheit.

Lea Beckmann

Juristin und Verfahrenskoordinatorin

„Eine Offizierin sucht mit klaren Worten auf Tinder Sex – das Bundesverwaltungsgericht sieht dadurch ihre Achtung und dienstliche Autorität bei ihren Untergebenen als gefährdet an. Dass sie sich für Menschen aller Geschlechter interessiert, legt es ihr als sexuelle Wahllosigkeit aus. Damit lässt das Bundesverwaltungsgericht die Sexualmoral der 50er Jahre aufleben und diskriminiert sie wegen ihrer sexuellen Orientierung. Diese Entscheidung verletzt Grundrechte und darf so keinen Bestand haben.“

Dürfen Staatsbedienstete – auch in hochrangigen Führungspositionen – Dating-Plattformen nutzen und offen nach Sex suchen? An dieser Frage entzündet sich der Fall von Anastasia Biefang. Die hochrangige Bundeswehroffizierin lebt mit ihrer Ehefrau in einer offenen Beziehung. Auf der Suche nach Sexualpartner*innen nutzte Biefang die Dating-App Tinder. 2019 wurde ein rechtswidrig erstellter Screenshot ihres Tinder-Profils ihrem Vorgesetzten zugespielt.

Daraufhin wurden Ermittlungen gegen sie angestrengt und ihr Vorgesetzter wollte Biefang – damals Bataillionskommandeurin – sogar von ihrem Posten ablösen. Denn der Vorwurf stand im Raum, dass ihr Tinder-Profil das Ansehen der Bundeswehr beschädigen und ihre eigene Autorität als Führungsperson untergrabe. Ihr Arbeitgeber erteilte ihr schließlich einen disziplinarischen Verweis. Dagegen wehrt sich Biefang – zunächst vor dem Truppendienstgericht und schließlich auch gerichtlich bis zum Bundesverwaltungsgericht.

Externer Inhalt von YouTube

Es gelten die Datenschutzbestimmungen von YouTube, wenn Sie externen Inhalt aufrufen.

Im Gespräch mit Anastasia Biefang

Privatleben auch für Staatsbedienstete grundrechtlich geschützt

Der 2. Wehrdienstsenat des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts hatte die Rüge der Bundeswehr im Mai bestätigt und im September begründet: Biefang dürfe Dating-Plattformen zwar verwenden, so das Gericht. Dabei müsse sie aber „missverständliche Überspitzungen“ und den Eindruck „sexueller Disziplinlosigkeit“ vermeiden. Insbesondere der Hinweis „all genders welcome“, also dass Anastasia Biefang sich zu Menschen aller Geschlechter hingezogen fühle, könne hingegen den Anschein „sexueller Wahllosigkeit“ und „sexueller Disziplinlosigkeit“ erwecken. So könne ein unbedarfter Dritter beim ersten, flüchtigen Lesen glauben, dass sie ihren Sexualtrieb ungehemmt ausleben wolle.

Dieser Vorwurf schränkt die Offizierin klar in der Ausübung ihres Grundrechts auf sexuelle Selbstbestimmung ein. Solche Grundrechtseingriffe in diesen wesentlichen Teil des Privatlebens sind nur dann verfassungskonform, wenn es ausreichend tragfähige Rechtfertigungsgründe gibt – wenn z.B. jemand zu Schaden kommen könnte. Dieser Umstand ist jedoch weder erkennbar noch vorgebracht. Die GFF bewertet den Verweis der Bundeswehr und die Entscheidung des BVerwG als klar verfassungswidrig. Das Recht auf sexuelle Selbstbestimmung als Ausprägung des allgemeinen Persönlichkeitsrechts gilt auch für Staatsbedienstete. Das Diskriminierungsverbot verbietet es zudem, ihre sexuelle Orientierung als „sexuelle Wahllosigkeit“ auszulegen und ihr dahingehendes Stillschweigen aufzuerlegen. Die Meinungsfreiheit schützt zudem auch Profiltexte auf Tinder und verbietet es staatlichen Stellen, Äußerungen zu verzerren oder in nachteiliger Weise zu interpretieren. Sie dürfen Beamt*innen keine Vorschriften dazu machen, mit welchen Worten sie in ihrem Privatleben sexuelle Orientierung und Beziehungsform leben und ihre Haltung hierzu ausdrücken. Auch dürfen bestimmte Beziehungsformen wie die offene Beziehung nicht benachteiligt und abgewertet werden.

Die Freiheit darf nicht von einem imaginären Dritten abhängen

Nachdem das Bundesverwaltungsgericht der Offizierin zunächst in ihrer eigenen Pressemitteilung vom Mai aufgrund ihres Dating-Profils „fehlende charakterliche Integrität“ nachgesagt hatte, verlagert es die Vorwürfe in seinen Entscheidungsgründen nun auf imaginäre Dritte. So könnten ihre Untergebene wegen ihres Dating- Profils die notwendige Achtung und das notwendige Vertrauen in sie als Vorgesetzte verlieren. Insbesondere könnten sie vermuten, dass Biefang wegen ihres eigenen Sexuallebens Vorwürfen von sexueller Belästigung innerhalb der Bundeswehr nicht ausreichend nachgeht.

Dass das Dating-Profil einen Imageschaden für die Bundeswehr nach sich ziehen könnte, lehnt selbst das Bundesverwaltungsgericht ab.

Die Figur des imaginären Dritten sieht die GFF besonders kritisch. Es darf nicht sein, dass Grundrechte prophylaktisch eingeschränkt werden, um unbedarfte Dritte zu schützen. „Die Richter*innen befürchten, dass unbeteiligte, gedankenlose Dritte ein hemmungsloses Sexualleben bei Frau Biefang vermuten könnten. Ihre Freiheit von den Mutmaßungen imaginärer Dritter abhängig zu machen, verkehrt den Schutz von Grundrechten ins Gegenteil“, sagt Verfahrenskoordinatorin Lea Beckmann. Im Übrigen ist die Unterstellung, dass Biefangs einvernehmliches und legales Sexualleben sie davon abhalte, Vorwürfe von sexueller Belästigung aufzuklären, unhaltbar. Zwischen beiden Sachverhalten besteht keinerlei Zusammenhang. Um das Recht auf sexuelle Selbstbestimmung zu stärken und damit die Figur des schutzwürdigen Dritten als Freiheitsmaßstab keine Schule macht, ziehen wir gemeinsam mit Anastasia Biefang vor das Bundesverfassungsgericht um ein Grundsatzurteil zu erstreiten.

Zeit für ein Urteil aus Karlsruhe

Denn die Folgen der Entscheidung des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts sind gravierend für viele Menschen: sie erlaubt nicht nur einem (in diesem Fall staatlichen) Arbeitgeber, das private Ausleben der gewählten Beziehungsmodelle und der eigenen Sexualität einzuschränken und mit der beruflichen Autorität in Zusammenhang zu stellen. Die im Mai veröffentlichte Pressemitteilung sowie die Entscheidungsgründe vom 14. September lesen sich wie ein gesellschaftspolitischer Schritt zurück in die 50er-Jahre des letzten Jahrhunderts: Die gerichtliche Argumentation ist getragen von einer Sexualmoral, die ganz besonders Frauen und queere Menschen beschränkt.

Externer Inhalt von YouTube

Es gelten die Datenschutzbestimmungen von YouTube, wenn Sie externen Inhalt aufrufen.


Webinar #GFFSpotlight: Für ein selbstbestimmtes Liebesleben vors BVerfG – mit Anastasia Biefang